Study Abroad Academic Credit Brief for U.S. Students

Colleges in Scotland are accredited by SQA, the Scottish Qualification Authority (www.sqa.org.uk) SQA is the only National Awarding Body and therefore is the paramount organization in terms of status.

Scotland's Rural College (SRUC) is a higher education, consulting and research institution focusing on agriculture and life sciences. (SRUC is comparable to the Land-Grant Universities in the U.S. in that it provides education, research and teaching under one institution.)

SRUC currently has six campuses across Scotland. Students study land-based courses from further education (similar to community colleges in the U.S) to post graduate level.

SRUC's further education and undergraduate degree programs are grouped into six departments: Agriculture and Business Management; Animal and Equine; Engineering; Science and Technology; and Environment and Countryside; Horticulture and Landscape; and Sport and Tourism (the Golf Program courses fall into this category.) These six areas would be similar to individual colleges within a U.S. university.

U.S. students who have successfully completed the two Scotland Equine Summer School courses at SRUC-Oatridge Campus have been awarded transfer academic credit, and their home university receives the transcript from SRUC. This process is like credit transfers from community or four-year colleges to universities in the U.S.

The four-week Scotland Golf Summer Program at SRUC includes the following courses (modules). Students are encouraged to review the courses with their advisor to determine transfer credit hours.

HW84 47 History and Development of Golf (40 hours) https://www.sqa.org.uk/sqa/files/acd/HW8447.pdf

F3CL 34 Golf Coaching: Intermediate Performance Skills (80 hours) https://www.sqa.org.uk/sqa/files/hn/F3CL34.pdf

HJ4W 34Work Experience (Internship) (40 hours) https://www.sqa.org.uk/sqa/files/hn/HJ4W34.pdf

Many colleges and universities in the U.S. that have participated in Adelante's study abroad programs (Equine and Ecology) in Scotland at SRUC, over the past decade, include the University of Arkansas, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, University Kentucky, the University of Missouri, Colorado State University, Syracuse University, Lehigh University, University of Texas-San Antonio, Centenary College, Otterbein University, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Midway College, North Carolina State University, University of Tennessee, Michigan

State University, Stephens College, Morehead State University, University of Colorado, University of California-Davis, Washington State University, Clemson, Auburn, Montana State, New Mexico State University, Dordt University and many others.